Welcome

Eric’s “Thanks-giving”

In Random/Humor on November 8, 2011 at 2:11 pm

by:  Eric Buenning

I don’t want to wait until Thanksgiving to start dishing out some things I’m thankful for.  I don’t need a holiday to tell me when to appreciate things.  No siree.  Also, I really needed to write something.  What perfect timing!!

I present you my giant list (note:  some will be serious, some will be for jest, and some will make no sense to you at all; just a heads up)

–I am thankful for my fantastic family and friends.  You know who you are, I don’t have the space or the time to thank all of you.  You guys put up with me and continue giving me support and encouragement when I do and/or don’t need it. Love you all.

–Special thanks goes out to my big bro Ryan.  You continue to inspire me to be great everyday.

–I am very thankful for the things I absolutely can not do or suck at.  Yeah, I’d kill to be able to sing or be a better public speaker (to name a very select few), but it’s because of these things I can’t do that I realize that I am good in other areas and am meant to make an impact with my talents.

(shifting gears alert!)

–I am thankful for the Green Bay Packers.  It’s easy to appreciate a champion, no doubting that.  I appreciate them because of how they carry themselves.  Start at the top with Aaron Rodgers, who is doing things in his short career that we haven’t seen before.  He is the epitome of a class-act, on and off the field.  Everyone else follows his lead, and I couldn’t be more proud to call them my team.

–I am thankful for Lindsey Lohan, for showing me how to NOT conduct myself as an adult.

–I am (surprisingly) thankful for Justin Bieber’s Christmas album.  I used to not like the kid, but there’s something about what he’s doing now (no…I’m not referring to his (alleged) knocking up of his fans backstage).  I don’t know…it doesn’t help that I’m a sucker for Christmas music.  Well played, Biebs….well played indeed.

–I’m so thankful that the NBA season is underway.

…just go with it, okay?  Let me pretend.

–I am thankful that baseball is over with.

–I am thankful for funny animal videos on YouTube.  They are the perfect pick-me-up whenever I am in need of one.

–I am incredibly thankful for all of the men and women in our police departments, the men and women firefighters, and all of the men and women in the military who sacrifice EVERYTHING to protect our country.  I know I speak on behalf of everyone when I express my gratitude to you guys.  Get home soon, military members.

–I am thankful for How I Met Your Mother.  It’s my favorite show on television, and it has (sadly) incorporated itself into my everyday life.  Nevertheless, I’m glad I started watching the show.

–I’m thankful for Emma Stone.  I think she’s talented and has a bright career ahead of her, but I’m more thankful that she just exists.  She is incredibly beautiful and appears to be a pretty cool woman.  Of course, I have no chance with her, but this is MY article.

–I am thankful for the first snowfall.  It’s one of the most beautiful and peaceful things I can ever witness.

–I am am thankful for laughter.  The best part about laughter is how universally awesome it is.  I’ve even broken it down for you:

Babies’ laughter: possibly the funniest/coolest thing ever.

Child’s laughter: awesome

Teens/Adult Laughter: awesome

Parent’s Laugher: comforting, and still very awesome

Older People’s Laughter: everything is similar to the above groups, but there is more sentiment in this age group.  Nevertheless, still super-duper awesome

If you didn’t catch that, LAUGHTER IS AWESOME.  SO THANKFUL.

–I am just downright thankful that I am a happy, healthy human being trying to do my best on this planet in my time here.  I’ve been given a great opportunity to succeed, and I will never stop trying to make sure the juice is worth the squeeze.

Alright, I’m going to cut my list off there.  I am so very thankful for so very much, I really am.  I just had to share some of it with the readers.

What are you thankful for??  If you need to share some thanks, send a list to buenning.eric@uwlax.edu and I will post some of your favorites in a later article.  You could also send singular things you’re thankful for to my Facebook or Twitter account (@EAB0702)

Leave a Reply

